How to Close Facebook Account Temporarily or Permanently

0
68
#DeleteFacebook How to close Facebook account temporarily and permanently: This is a simplified article on how to close your Facebook account yourself.
close facebook account

Do you want to take a break from Facebook but confused about the decision to take: closing it temporarily or permanently?

You need to be able to differentiate between the two. Bear it in mind that closing it Temporarily means DEACTIVATION while Closing it Permanently means DELETION. So, let’s see the differences between the two:

If you choose to close your Facebook account temporarily or deactivate your account:

  • You can reactivate whenever you want.
  • People can’t see your Timeline or search for you.
  • Some info may remain visible (for example messages you sent).

If you choose to Close your Facebook account permanently or delete your account:

  • You can’t regain access once it’s deleted.
  •  Deletion may be delayed a few days after it’s requested. A deletion request is canceled if you log back into your Facebook account during this time.
  • It may take up to 90 days to delete data stored in backup systems. Your info isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time.
  • Some things aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may have messages from you after deletion.
  • Copies of some material (for example log records) may remain in Facebook’s database but are disassociated from personal identifiers.

So, if you choose to close your Facebook account temporarily or deactivate your Facebook account, here’s how to go about it:

How to Deactivate or Close Your Facebook Account Temporarily

To deactivate your account:
  1. Click the downward arrow at the top right of any Facebook page.
  2. Click Settings, then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  3. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  4. Choose Deactivate Account, then click Continue to Account Deactivation and follow the instructions to confirm.
When your account is deactivated or closed temporarily:
  • No one else can see your profile.
  • Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible.
  • Your friends may still see your name in their friends’ list. This is only visible to your friends, and only from their friends’ list.
  • Group admins may still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.

How to Delete or Deactivate Your Facebook Account Permanently

To permanently delete your account:
  1. Click the downward arrow at the top right of any Facebook page.
  2. Click Settings then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  3. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  4. Choose Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
  5. Enter your password, click Continue and then click Delete Account.

Note: Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (like your photos and posts) from Facebook.

After your account has been deleted, you won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.

How to Download a Copy of Your Facebook Information

To download a copy of your Facebook data:

1. Click the downward arrow in the top right of Facebook, then click Settings.

2. In the left column, click Your Facebook Information.

3. Next to Download Your Information, click View.

4. To add or remove categories of data from your request, click the boxes on the right side of Facebook.

5. Select other options, including:

  • The format of your download request.
  • The quality of photos, videos and other media.
  • A specific date range of information. If you don’t select a date range, you’ll request all the information for the categories you’ve selected.

6. Click Create File to confirm the download request.

After you’ve made a download request, it will appear as Pending in the Available Files section of the Download Your Information tool. It may take several days for us to finish preparing your download request.

Once we’ve finished preparing your download request, we’ll send a notification letting you know it’s ready.

To download a copy of data you requested:
  1. Go to the Available Files section of the Download Your Information tool.
  2. Click Download and enter your password.

Please do well to share this article and drop your questions or suggestions in the comment box.

Recommended

Here are some recommended articles for you.

Facebook Comments